learn Italian language

enjoy Italian Culture

Do you need to learn Italian?

Posted by Monica Corrias on February 28, 2010

Are you planning to go to Italy? Do you like to learn Italian in Rome? Or do you love learning Italian overseas, but unfortunately you  don’t have the opportunity to spend an amount of time abroad?

Maybe I can help you!

If you really love to learn Italian, you have to know the main thing: you need an Italian teacher with “know how” and experience.  I teach on line, but unfortunately I know that on line lessons are no substitute for someone to talk and listen to you, because you need to speak with a native speaker in a natural way. As you probably know, I  teach in an Italian language school in Rome specialized in teaching Italian to foreigners and also I’m used teaching as freelance (at my home or walking around Rome, one of the most beautiful and ancient cities around the world). When I teach the lessons I’m used to speaking Italian with my students and we talk about things students are interested in and also we like to joke, therefore the lessons are fun and easy.

I use the Italian language to communicate with my students and vice versa because this forces the students to be resourceful to understand what I tell them. The purpose is to communicate, not just to do an academic exercise, so the students can improve them vocabulary and comprehension and it works for sure!

As you know I have created this blog to help students who cannot go to Italy, to enjoy their learning of Italian language online, so now I’ll give you some tips and links:

First of all, I suggest that you spend some time every day listening to Italian songs or podcast or videos to improve your listening skills and your confidence in Italian language. I am sure: slowly but definitely, your confidence will grow up.

Be quiet and do not  be distracted by only one part of the meaning (and therefore miss the important part): you have to try to understand the general meaning (and guess the other section).

In addition to this, when you are studying Italian avoid the temptation to make absolute comparisons to English or other different languages.

Look at these links:

ANSA

RAI

RADIO

Italian classes

Wordreference (thousands more terms that are not included in the main dictionary can be found in the WordReference Italian-English forum questions and answers. If you still can not find a term, then you can ask in the forums where many native English and Italian speakers from around the world love assisting others to find the right translation)

Youtube Italia

But remember: the main focus is “to practise“!

If you need an experienced Italian language teacher email me!

 AddThis Social Bookmark Button

3 Responses to “Do you need to learn Italian?”

  1. Ciao Monica! ho appena trovato il tuo blog! Che bello! Hai ragione e’ molto importante praticare la lingua ogni giorno per migliorare! Se non ti dispiace, voglio mettere un link al tuo blog al mio. (Diario di una studentessa matta http://melissamuldoon.wordpress.com A presto! Melissa

  2. Man said

    I am trying to learn some Italian recently, and I found this website.
    It is awesome and sweet to have a local Italian to help out some people who want to learn a foreign language but can’t afford to study oversea.
    Anyway, I just leave a message here to show my respect and gratitude to your selfish-less effort to help people like me. FYI, English isn’t my first language either. I know there is a long way to learn a new language, and I am going to learn as much as I can. A million support for this web and you.

Leave a Reply

 
