learn Italian language

enjoy Italian Culture

What does the Italian “NE” mean?

Posted by Monica Corrias on December 1, 2009

Italian language teacher with many years of experience here for your Italian lessons.

Some students have a lot of troubles  with the Italian “CI”  and “NE”. Today I’ll tell you about “NE”. To understand the “CI” look at here!

What does the Italian “NE” mean? Can I omit it?

In Italian it has several different meanings. The “NE” is absolutely necessary  and I cannot omit it!

First of all, as you probably know, “NE”  is a pronoun and we used it with quantities (“some”, “any”, “a little” or a number and can also mean “of that or of them”). Careful:  we use it to avoid repeating the name that we have already mentioned therefore you cannot leave it.

E.g.

  • Avete degli amici italiani? = Have you got any Italian friends?

No, non ne abbiamo =  No, we haven’t (of them).   Ne replaces “of friends”

  • Vorrei un bottiglia d’acqua … ne ha una più piccola? =  I’d like a bottle of water, do you have a smaller one (of it)?   Ne replaces “one/a bottle”
  • Luca ha un cane = Luca has a dog

Io ne ho due = I have two of them.   Ne replaces “two dogs”

  • Le forchette non bastano, dammene delle altre = There aren’t enough forks, give me some more (of them).  Ne replaces “more forks”
  • Vorrei del prosciutto crudo = I’d like some prosciutto

   Mi dispiace, non ce n’è più = I’m sorry, there isn’t any left (of it)

  • Ho una nuova macchina = I’ve a new car

 Ne vorrei una anch’io! = I’d like a new one too (a/one car)  [read more]

One Response to “What does the Italian “NE” mean?”

  1. steve said

    Ciao!

    Puoi aiutarmi con congiuntivo?

    I have memorised all 4 subjunctive tenses for essere and avere, now i just need to know how they’re used. Could you give me an example of each one?

Leave a Reply

 
